Skip to page body Home About Us Government Doing Business Living Here Visiting Us I Want To... Contact Us

Dorchester County operates under a Council Administrator form of government.

The County Administrator serves the County Council as its agent in administrative matters. This position is appointed directly by the Council, and has administrative oversight over all operations of the County government with the exceptions of departments governed by elected officials and special districts.

The County Administrator is responsible for coordinating departmental activities, studying administrative procedures and organization, and recommending changes to improve the operations of County government, reviewing budget requests and making recommendations to the Council. It is the responsibility of the County Administrator to effectively implement all decisions, policies, ordinances and motions made by the County Council. The County Administrator performs these responsibilities through the various department directors and administrative personnel who report directly to the County Administrator.

Mailing Address & Office Location:
201 Johnston Street
St. George, SC 29477

Hours of Operations: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM Monday – Friday, excluding holidays


County Administrator  Clerk to Administrator
Jason L. Ward  Susan Brickle (843) 563-0100
Deputy County Administrator  Executive Assistant 
Charles H. Potts  Chantell Glover (843) 832-0043
Chief Financial Officer
Executive Assistant
Daniel T. Prentice  Tami McCrackin (843) 563-0103
Public Information Officer
Tiffany Norton (843) 563-0084
Budget Officer   Revenue Analyst
Jessica Shuler (843) 563-0365 Melanie Hay (843) 563 0397

Last updated: 4/19/2017 10:35:12 AM